Loading...

Preparing Laptops for Backup Data Transfer Using the Migration Assistant Tool for Windows

You can transfer backed up data from one Windows computer to another by using the Migration Assistant tool. If you have multiple user profiles in your laptop, you can back up and transfer the data from all user profiles.

The client that runs the Migration Assistant is the destination computer. The client whose data is transferred is the source computer.

If the version of the backed up file is newer or older than the one that exists on the destination, the destination file is overwritten. The files and folders are restored with their original security attributes.

Backup Data Supported for Migration

Review the components that are migrated using the Migration Assistant. For more information, see Components Migrated by the Migration Assistant.

Remember:

The user settings files are backed up only with a full or an incremental backup that runs subsequently after a synthetic full job. If you do not want to back up the additional data such as wallpapers, screensavers, internet cookies, or AppData files, create the DisableMigrationAssistantFilesBackup additional setting on the client computer. Remember that the user settings are not backed up if you enable the additional setting.

Requirements

  • Identify the source and destination computers. Configure both computers as laptop clients.
  • If the source computer has multiple user profiles, you can transfer the Well-Known folders of any user profile to the destination computer.
  • The destination computer must operate on the same or a higher version of the operating system than the source computer.
  • You must backup the Well-Known folders on the source computer. You must use the defaultBackupSet and default subclient to back up the Well-Known folders.
  • Use the defaultBackupSet and default subclient to back up the user profiles that you want to transfer.

Subclient content requirements

  • Define the Well-Known folders as follows in your subclient content:
    • %Documents%
    • %Videos%
    • %Music%
    • %Pictures%
    • %Desktop%

    For more information on adding subclient content, see Adding Well-Known Folders to Backups for Laptop Backup.

  • To back up locked files, enable Use VSS Options For locked files only check box. For more information on backing up files using VSS, see Using Volume Shadow Service (VSS) to Back Up Files for the Windows File System Agent.
  • To avoid backing up temporary files in the AppData directory, configure C:\Users\**\AppData\*** as your subclient filter. Remember that the user setting files are not backed up when you specify the filter. For the Migration Assistant tool to work and backing up user settings, you must specify the following exceptions in your subclient before you start the backup job:
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Feeds Cache\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Feeds\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Media Player\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\History\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Office\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Outlook\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\PowerPoint\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Signatures\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Stationery\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\UProof\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Cookies\***||
    • C:\Users\**\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Network\***||
    • C:\Users\**\Favorites\***||

End-user requirements

  • The end-user who performs the migration operation must have valid active directory credentials.
  • The end-user must be the owner of the source and destination computers. For more information on assigning owners, see Configuring Users as Client Owners for Laptop Backups
  • The end-user who performs the migration operation must have the following restore permissions:
    • Out-of-Place Recover
    • In Place Recover
    • Browse or End-User Access
    • Overwrite on restore

    For more information on assigning user permissions, see Assign User Permissions for Laptop Backup.

What To Do Next

To transfer data from one computer to another, see Migration Assistant - End-User for more information.

Last modified: 8/6/2019 1:43:53 PM