V11 Service Pack 12

License Requirements - MediaAgent

By default, the agent uses an Evaluation license. After the evaluation period is complete, you need to obtain a permanent license from your Software Provider.

You can choose to use one of the following licensing mechanisms:

  • Traditional License, based upon products and features in your CommCell.
  • Capacity License, based on the amount of data you want to protect.

For comprehensive information on licensing, see License Administration.

Traditional License

The following license types are available for MediaAgent. You need to obtain the appropriate licenses based on your environment.

Agent or Component

License Type

MediaAgent for Microsoft Windows


MediaAgent for IBM AIX


MediaAgent for Hewlett Packard HP-UX


MediaAgent for Linux


MediaAgent for Sun Solaris


For clustered environments, you must have the following license for each physical and virtual node where the MediaAgent is installed. If you do not plan to use the MediaAgent on the physical nodes, install the MediaAgent as a Restore Only Agent, which does not consume a license.

MediaAgent (Windows or UNIX)


Capacity License

If you plan to use capacity licenses, you must obtain the following license:

License Type

License Consumption


1 license per CommCell for n Terabytes (TB) of protected data

Last modified: 12/21/2017 8:00:02 PM